Joint Statement of the Diplomatic Community on equal rights for LGBTI

As Slovakia’s international friends and partners, we join in celebrating LGBTI+ Pride and reaffirm our commitment to protecting and defending the human rights of all. The Pride March in Banska Bystrica on 20 June, along with virtual Pride events for Bratislava on 25 July and Košice on 22 August, together with other Pride events, celebrate the important societal contributions of LGBTI+ persons and support respect for all. We hope that these events will continue to expand positive attitudes within society towards LGBTI+ family members, neighbors, colleagues and friends. Everyone is born free and equal in dignity and rights without distinction of any kind, as stated in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. Our governments have recognized this basic truth, and we stand firmly with the LGBTI+ community and the right for all persons to exercise their universal freedoms. We share, too, the principles of the Charter of the Fundamental Rights of the European Union, which prohibits discrimination on the grounds of sexual orientation. We recognize the important contributions of LBGTI+ persons to society. We welcome efforts to secure the human rights of everyone in the Slovak Republic, including LGBTI+ persons, and we encourage tolerance and respect for all in Slovak society. Everyone deserves a safe environment free from violence and harassment. Promoting equality is consistent with the international obligations of our governments. It is also important for our economies and our societies that all human beings are able to realize their potential. An inclusive and diverse society based on equality, respect, and liberty benefits everyone. Supporting and advancing human rights for all makes our countries more competitive and successful – and more able to face the local and global problems of today’s world.
  • Embassy of Albania
  • Embassy of Argentina
  • Embassy of Australia
  • Embassy of Austria
  • Embassy of Belgium
  • Embassy of Bulgaria
  • Embassy of Canada
  • Embassy of the Republic of Cyprus
  • Embassy of the Czech Republic
  • Embassy of Denmark
  • Representation of the European Commission
  • Embassy of Ecuador
  • Embassy of Finland
  • Embassy of FranceEmbassy of Germany
  • Embassy of GreeceEmbassy of Iceland
  • Embassy of Ireland
  • Embassy of Israel
  • Embassy of Italy
  • Embassy of Latvia
  • Embassy of Lithuania
  • Embassy of Luxembourg
  • Embassy of Malta
  • Embassy of Mexico
  • Embassy of the Netherlands
  • Embassy of New Zealand
  • Embassy of Norway
  • Embassy of Portugal
  • Embassy of Romania
  • Embassy of Slovenia
  • Embassy of Spain Embassy of Sweden
  • Embassy of Switzerland
  • Embassy of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Embassy of the United States of America
  • Embassy of Uruguay

This statement is also signed by:

The Mayor of Bratislava, Mr. Matus Vallo

The President of Bratislava Self-governing Region, Mr. Juraj Droba