COVID-19 Information

Slovak Response to COVID-19, Travel Restrictions to The United States of America, and Consular Services at Embassy Bratislava


COVID-19 Information


Last updated: March 7, 2023


The CDC’s Order requiring proof of vaccination for non-U.S. citizen nonimmigrants to travel to the United States is still in effect.  For more information see Requirement for Proof of COVID-19 Vaccination for Air PassengersCOVID-19 vaccination records from 2020 and 2021 remain valid for purposes of travel to the U.S.  Check the CDC website for additional information and Frequently Asked Questions.


Entry and Exit Requirements:




Are there COVID-related entry requirements for U.S. citizens? No.  As of April 6, 2022, all COVID-19 requirements for entry to Slovakia were cancelled, regardless of vaccination status.


As of April 21, 2022, masks are only required to be worn in healthcare settings. Children under the age of 6 years are exempt from all mask requirements.


Is a negative COVID-19 test (PCR and/or serology) required for entry? No.


Are health screening procedures in place at airports and other ports of entry? No.


Are visa extensions for residents and/or tourists available? Yes, as detailed below.

  • Temporary and permanent residents, as well as anyone on paroled status in Slovakia, whose validity expires during the declared state of extraordinary circumstances and up to a month afterwards will have their legal status extended for two months after the official state of extraordinary circumstances is declared over.
  • Travelers that legally entered Slovakia on a Schengen visa will maintain their legal status until one month after the official state of extraordinary circumstances.
  • Note that the state of extraordinary circumstances is not the same as the state of emergency that ended on May 14, 2021, nor the state of emergency that ended on February 22, 2022.
  • Temporary and permanent residents who are outside of Slovakia and are unable to return during the state of extraordinary circumstances can submit an application for the renewal of their residency status at the closest Slovak embassy abroad:sk/washington.The Slovak embassy can provide details on application procedures.
  • For current information in English, including operating hours of the Foreign Police, see the website of the International Organization for Migration.
Quarantine Information:


Are U.S. citizens required to quarantine? No.


COVID-19 Testing:


  • Private testing is available at, or various locations throughout the country. The public health authority also has a list of testing facilities, many of which take walk-ins, on the e-VUC website.
  • If not ordered by the Regional Public Health Authority or a medical provider, the fee for testing is paid by the traveler. The standard cost for PCR tests is €40-€100.
  • If you plan to use the results for travel, make sure that you receive a paper document or the option to print a paper document because text message results are not valid for travel to most countries who require testing.
  • Slovak authorities request that you do not go to the hospital if you believe that you might have COVID-19.  Officials request that those experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 contact health authorities at 0917-222-682.  A healthcare provider will explain treatment options after discussing your concerns. Information in English is also outlined on the website of the International Office for Migration.
  • Official government of Slovakia COVID-19 statistics can be found at


COVID-19 Vaccine Information



Local Resources:


Other Links: